Transitioning to the manga

Started by goody2shoes, September 24, 2014, 11:49:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

goody2shoes

Hey all, I'm a newbie who just finished the anime. I loved the characters and premise, but the story didn't really go anywhere and the comedy got tired pretty quick.

I'm hoping the manga will fix most of my gripes. Even though I will miss the slapstick insanity of the show I think the rest of it (comedic wit, characters, story and artwork quality) should make up for that. Therefore I've been researching the best way to get into it.

I live in Europe. I'm considering buying the first few volumes off amazon, but then I read about the digital edition. It's not available in my region, but if these are cheaper it may be worth it to circumvent that with a proxy. At least to get a taste, because without an e-reader I'll prefer reading TPB's.

So does anyone here know the quality and price of the digital release? What format does it use, and is there some form of DRM?

Thanks in advance!

LumRanmaYasha

Unfortunately, the digital releases are no longer being sold by Viz, so the only way to purchase the volumes is through print.  :sweat:

goody2shoes

That's a shame! What about other outlets though? Amazon has previews of later volumes as Kindle books. Are those unlisted too?

LumRanmaYasha

I checked Amazon, and I don't see a way to preview the books on kindle, or a way to purchase them through there, and I checked other sites as well, and there really just doesn't seem to be any avenue to purchase the series digitally at this point in time.  :( 

Foggle

Welcome to the forum! Glad to hear you're interested in the manga; it's definitely a lot better than the anime IMO. :)